Megan's Law

Section 290 of the California Penal Code requires people convicted of certain sexual offenses to register with the local law enforcement agency responsible for the jurisdiction in which they reside within 5 working days of their birthday, and within 5 working days of changing their address. This is a lifetime requirement. Law enforcement cannot dictate where an offender lives, as long as the offender registers his/her residence with the appropriate jurisdiction. Complete requirements are listed in Section 290 of the California Penal Code.
For many sex registrants, failure to register annually is now a felony offense.

Beginning of Megan's Law


Megan’s law allows the state and law enforcement agencies to disseminate information regarding registered sex offenders to the public. The law is named after 7-year-old Megan Kanka, a New Jersey girl who was raped and killed by a known child molester who had moved across the street from the family without their knowledge. In the wake of the tragedy, the Kankas sought to have local communities warned about sex offenders in the area. California’s Megan’s Law was enacted in 1996 (Chapter 908, Stats. of 1996).

Keep in mind that sex offenders have always lived in our communities. It was not until Megan’s Law was enacted that law enforcement agencies were able to share this information with the community. Citizen abuse of this information to threaten, intimidate, or harass registered sex offenders is illegal and violators will be prosecuted.

Information Purpose


The information within this document is provided to the citizens of Morgan Hill as means of education. Information about sexual offenders living in "county islands" within city limits or in the county areas surrounding the city must be obtained from the Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Department.
Please Note: The release of this information to the public is meant to assure public protection, not to punish the offender. The information may not be used to harass or commit any crime against the offender. Public safety is best served when offenders are not concealing their location to avoid harassment.

The Morgan Hill Police Department conducts annual registrations with every sex offender within our community as staffing allows. Among other mandates, sex offenders are required to update their registration, name and vehicle information within 5 working days of their birthday each year. Additionally, all registrants are required to notify local law enforcement within 5 days of any relocation in our outside the jurisdiction. Morgan Hill Police Department detectives also attempt to conduct site visits and confirm registration information of our sex offenders at least once a year.